SDE Regional Meeting at Guymon…

I saw many of you at tri-county on Monday.  I hope that you all felt that your time was well spent in the sessions that you chose to attend.  I went to Josh Flores’ session in the morning.  He shared many resources for ELA teachers 6th grade and above.  I also saw a little of Levi Patrick’s Math presentation in the concourse area.  Unfortunately, Kelly Curtwright couldn’t come for the Social Studies session due to an illness but I spoke to a few of you who attended this session.  You said you received good information and that you had a discussion about Special Education that you wouldn’t of had otherwise.

In the afternoon I helped Dr. Mary Dahlgren and Kayla Hindman in their K – 2 (3rd grade was included) ELA presentation.  I visited with many of you who had questions and concerns about the Reading Sufficiency Act, good cause exemptions for the third grade retention law, K – 3 assessments and many other items.  I stated that I was in the process of planning multi-district PD’s that would include RSA “the Law” and would invite you all to attend once they were finalized.  Well, it’s done and I am attaching the calendar here:

PD Calendar 13 – 14

When you look at the calendar notice that there are PD dates for the whole year but those that are past December don’t have topics.  I am waiting to assign topics till a little closer to those dates.  At the top of the page is the link (http://www.eventbrite.ca/org/3716513753) to the Eventbright registration pages for each of the sessions (morning, afternoon & evening).  The PD’s listed on the calendar are for all panhandle educators and will be held at the OPSU Guymon Classroom.  I have 18 seats available at each training.  ITV access will be available for those who wish to take advantage of that service.  If you’d like to “tune in” you must arrange that with me prior to the scheduled session (preferably days in advance).  As always, if you have any questions feel free to email, text or call me.

There are several RSA “the Law” sessions scheduled in the next month if you are concerned about your level of knowledge of this law.  I can also come and do an onsite training.  I will be having an onsite RSA “the Law” training in Beaver (per their request).  I will be inviting surrounding districts to that session which will be finalized tomorrow.  This is in addition to those scheduled at the OPSU Guymon Classroom.  If you’d like to set up a RSA “the Law” training at your district just let me know.  The presentation is a minimum of a hour and a half without questions.  I will stay after the presentation to field questions.

I know there was much confusion in registering for the Regional Meeting held on Monday.  I hope that this doesn’t discourage your registering for events that I have to offer.

I’d like to give a big SHOUT OUT to those of you who registered online for the SDE Regional Meeting (tri-county).  There were several reasons for your registering with Eventbright and the SDE:

  1. ease of “checking in” (if you brought your ticket with you Kerri White and Cara Combs (and those helping out) were able to scan your ticket and that was that)
  2. those that didn’t register had to fill out the yellow information page (Kerri and Cara input your information for you so that you would receive a survey)
  3. accountability for the SDE (so that they can show how many panhandle educators they reached in their training)
  4. survey (you should receive a survey asking about your experience and allowing you to comment)
  5. certificate of attendance (once you fill out the survey you will be given a certificate of attendance)

I am excited to have a regular venue for multi-district PD.  I hope to see you all in some fashion at these PD’s throughout the year.

Thanks – Kimmy

This entry was posted in Kimmy's Daily Blog, Professional Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell us what you think!

